September 26 – New Dominions Join the Empire

Posted on September 26, 2016

When I say, “the Empire,” I don't mean the horrible galaxy-wide dictatorship that Strikes Back in the Star Wars movies – that's fictional – instead, I mean the British Empire, which straddled the globe in the 1800s and the early 1900s. It was made up of a variety of dominions, colonies, protectorate, mandates, plus other territories.

On this date in 1907, two new “New” dominions joined the British Empire:

New Zealand and Newfoundland.

First, what's a dominion?

It was a semi-independent political unit. British dominions were considered to be under the British Crown (in modern times, Queen Elizabeth II), but they were governed by locally-elected governments. They shared a common citizenship and collaborated on foreign affairs and defense.

Since World War II, there is no more “British Empire.” All the dominions became fully independent of the United Kingdom, although they remain in the Commonwealth of Nations and still have Queen Elizabeth II as their reigning sovereign.

Now, what do you know about New Zealand and Newfoundland?

For each question, answer “New Zealand” or “Newfoundland” or “both”:

  1. It is now part of Canada (joined in 1949).

  1. It was the filming location for ALL of the scenes of The Lord of the Rings movies.

  1. Its capital (Wellington) is the southernmost capital city in the world.

  1. There are no land snakes there.
  1. It consists of one or more islands.
  2. On 9-11, the horrible terrorist attack in New York City and other U.S. places on September 11, 2001, thirty-nine U.S.-bound airplanes were diverted there, and about 6,600 travelers were stranded there for three days! They were taken into private homes and treated with hospitality that is still remembered today.
  3. It's known for its native kiwi bird – the bird is such a national icon that people who live there are called “Kiwis.”
  4. It has its own time zone, 30 minutes offset from neighboring time zones.
  5. It is home to more species of penguins than any other country.
  6. It has a dog breed named after it.

  7. Its population is largely descended from British settlers. Of course there are also people descended from aboriginal or native peoples.

  1.  Its flag:

  2. Its flag:

  3. Its scenery:

  4. Its scenery:

1) Newfoundland - 2) New Zealand - 3) New Zealand – 4) Both - 5) Both - 6) Newfoundland - 7) New Zealand - 8) Newfoundland - 9) New Zealand - 10) Newfoundland - 11) Both - 12) Newfoundland - 13) New Zealand - 14) New Zealand - 15) Newfoundland

Also on this date:

Plan ahead:

Check out my Pinterest boards for:
And here are my Pinterest boards for:

No comments:

Post a Comment