April 12, 2011

Yuri's Night – 50th Anniversary of Human Space Flight!

Every year on April 12 we celebrate Yuri's Night, in honor of the first human space flight by Soviet cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin. But this year is special—it's the big Five-O of anniversaries!

On Spacevidcast there will be a Live Global webcast tonight of the Yuri's Night celebrations (starting at midnight UTC—that's 8 p.m. Eastern Time and 5 p.m. Pacific Time.) 

Read about Yuri's flight and Yuri's Night here

Yuri Gagarin was the first person to see Earth from space. He said:

"Circling the Earth in my orbital spaceship, I marveled at the beauty of our planet. People of the world, let us safeguard and enhance this beauty — not destroy it!"

For more on Yuri's Night, check out last year's post

No comments:

Post a Comment